Mala Roy files nomination says confident of victory

first_imgKolkata: Trinamool Congress candidate from South Kolkata Lok Sabha seat Mala Roy filed her nomination on Monday at the office of the District Election Officer (DEO), South Kolkata, at Survey Building in Alipore.”I am 1000 percent confident of victory. The people of South Kolkata have always elected Trinamool Congress and this year, it will be no exception. Our Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is the candidate for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats and the TMC will win riding on the massive development that she has done in the state,” Roy said after filing her nominations. She reiterated that she is trying to reach every single doorstep in the constituency during her campaign. Also Read – Rs 13,000 crore investment to provide 2 lakh jobs: MamataSouth Kolkata will go to polls in the last phase of elections on May 19. Roy was accompanied by state Urban Development minister Firhad Hakim, state Education minister Partha Chatterjee, state Power minister Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay and state Disaster Management minister Javed Khan. “The people of South Kolkata have full faith in Mamata Banerjee and she has nominated Roy in this seat. So her win is just a matter of time,” Chatterjee said. Subrata Bakshi had swept the Lok Sabha elections in 2014 with a margin of 1,36,339 votes over BJP’s Tathagata Roy. Interestingly, Roy had contested with a Congress ticket in 2014 and had bagged over 1 lakh votes. Also Read – Lightning kills 8, injures 16 in stateRoy was initially surprised when Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee nominated her in the seat but being a seasoned politician, she soon started her campaign to reach out to the voters. TMC celebrity candidate Nusrat Jahan also filed her nomination on Monday for the Basirhat parliamentary constituency. Basirhat will go for the polls in the seventh phase on May 19. Nusrat Jahan and Mimi Chakraborty (fighting from the Jadavpur constituency) are two new additions to the party’s list of celebrity candidates, which also includes MPs Dev Adhikari, Moon Moon Sen and Shatabdi Roy.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *